Since 1905, according to state law, drivers are required to register their vehicles and display license numbers. For most vehicles, both rear and front tabs are needed.
Maine license plates’ availability is regulated by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
After completing the registration, you are now free to apply and choose the one you prefer. It would be best to keep in mind that a safety inspection and certificate renewal process is taking place every year.
You can complete the procedure online, by attending one of the 13 branches throughout the state or by mail. In this article, we will guide you through every step of the way.
First of all, you should know that the registration process depends on several factors, such as the automobile type, age, placard kind, etc. Therefore, you should contact the municipal office to know the details.
As for the paperwork, here is the list to submit:
Specialty tabs accordingly are:
These are made to emphasize specific spheres, distinctive characteristics, and associations. For license plates search, an online service and payment by card are available.
After filing the application, it may take at least 30 calendar days to review it. Afterward, you are going to receive your enrollment papers by mail.
Yet, you won’t be able to get it if you still haven’t managed to register your car.
So, if the tab you prefer is available, you will see the image. For making the order, you should have:
After covering regular registration fees, you’ll be able to obtain a personalized tab with an additional payment of $20. For each renewal, you must pay an extra $15.
After moving, you should start the converting process within 30 days. For that, you need to take the following documents to the municipal office or your local branch of BMV:
You can renew it online by:
Another way of renewing the Maine DMV license plate is by attending the local municipal office. If it cannot assist you with the procedure, you’ll be guided to one of the BMV branches.
You may also be requested an in-person renewal if your tag expired more than seven months ago.
If your automobile placards have been damaged, lost, or stolen, you need to file an application. You have to provide your authorization document and name a reason for requesting a replacement.
You will also be asked to name the year and make of your car, your allowance number, and provide proof of identity.
You can apply in person by making a payment of $5.
However, if you still have any questions concerning the replacement process, call the BMV at (207) 624-9000.