To buy a car, try to use Georgia License Plate Lookup. You can find who was the owner of the vehicle. In addition, it will help you discover its reports or repair history. So, you may see that your car is in good condition, but it may have many problems inside.
Before buying a car, run the lookup. It doesn’t matter where you are. There are search mechanisms for other states as well, for example, Delaware, Connecticut, etc.
Table of Contents
You have three options for implementation.
Online public databases are an effortless way to do it. It delivers you the information you want, like machine accidents, repairs, or reports. Commercial firms create public databases.
There are some steps to do to obtain the necessary information. So here they are:
As it is mentioned, there are three ways to obtain. And another one is to request it from the Georgia Dept. of Transportation. To contact them, use by letter, by phone, in person, or online ways.
After all these steps, you get information like auto VIN, registration, and the car owner’s name.
You can find two types here. First, the DOT delivers it to every owner of an auto.
Their plate includes the word itself. They will not be charged for it, too. And they have a second placard if they deliver an additional $25 for a year. Women have it written “woman veteran”.
Let’s see who is eligible to get this type. The participants of World War II, Desert Storm, Korean, Terrorism Global Was, Afghanistan, and Iraq wars have the opportunity to get it.
Consequently, it consists of the war name, the American flag in the background, and the campaign. People who have served in one of these wars and are on active duty should assign it. If you are a wife of a fallen soldier, you have the opportunity to implement it. But you cannot marry for the second time.
This edition is available for motorbikes, too. It has an American flag and “disabled veteran” on it. Every means of transportation has two of them on it: one for the front part and one for the back.
People are considered to be disabled if they meet the following conditions.
For them, the steps are much easier. They have to fill out the form and bring it to their county tax office.
This plate consists of the American flag in the background. It has the seal of the service branch. And the word “retired” is written on it.
People who have finished their duty should be assigned to this type. In addition, they are not going to put up with something. But, in case they want the second, they have to give $25.
Here you have an opportunity to get personalized placards. So, the Department of Revenue in Georgia comes up with stuff.
If you have a GA driver’s license, you are able to apply for it. First, you have to go to the DMV in Georgia and register your machine. When you go for it, the below-mentioned documents will be necessary.
When you finish it, you take all the documents to the County Tag Office. If you lose your tag or are stolen, you are to notify the law authorities.
For the registration, there is a fixed cost. So that is $20. To replace your title, you should give $18. But for the new title, you have to give $18.
It doesn’t matter how you submit the form, there is an additional cost. It is $10.
In GA, you are able to transfer it from state to state. If you buy a means of transportation from a dealer, he does it for you. But if you buy the car from an individual, it is better to visit the County Tag branch.
Then you may implement it. So starting the first day of purchasing it, you must register it within 30 days.
Every means of transportation must have a title and be registered here. The MVD requires it. If you are new here, you have 30 days starting from your first entry into the state to register your vehicle. The dealers finish the application part for the title, so your part is the registration.
The renewal process is very important. Always make sure that your tag is valid. In order to renew it, you have to go to the County Tag office. And you can do it by mail, too.
Here are the documents for renewal.
Please note that you may have penalties if you do not renew it in time. The DMV always sends a notification if your renewal is coming. They send it a month before. Check How can you search a license plate in several states: Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, Virginia, and Washington.
To run it online, there is some stuff to know. They are your Driver’s Placard number and VIN. So, you better check all the taxes, conveniences, and fees.
For more details, here is the address of the DOT.
It is One Georgia Center 600 West Peachtree Street NW Atlanta, GA 30308. The phone is (404) 631-1990.