• Home
  • /
  • Louisiana License Plate Lookup

Louisiana License Plate Lookup

Louisiana License Plate LookupLouisiana License Plate Lookup services are here to help its residents during the process of buying a pre-owned car. With their help, it is easy to check the history and condition of the automobile beforehand. It keeps you from buying damaged or stolen automobiles.

To get more info on the license plate-related procedures, read the text below.

How to Perform the Search

To discover if the vehicle has been engaged in accidents or thefts, use Louisiana License Plate Lookup online services. This is the easiest method of getting background info. You just need to search for trustful online databases, which get their data from official sources. Afterward, enter the plate number and select the state. With these two quick steps, you will get the report and reach available public photos of the vehicle.

Check how can you search a license plate in several states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida and Georgia.

It is also possible to search by entering the County’s local office, calling them over the phone. Not to forget about using the services available on the website of the Office of Motor Vehicles. Fill out the request form and wait for the response.

After receiving the report, you will get data on:

  • Past owner of the automobile (if it is an individual or organization). As Louisiana follows Driver’s Privacy Protection Act Laws (DPPA), you cannot get personal information about the past owner. The name, telephone number, or other personal details are not available to the public.
  • Secondly, you will discover data on the main features of the automobile. It includes the year and the name of the producer, condition, and so on.
  • Thirdly, it also shows the involvement of the automobile in accidents and natural disasters.
  • Finally, you are to see the VIN.

Registration process

The LA Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) handles all the license plate-related issues. As it is illegal to drive without state authorization, after settling down in this region or buying a new car, you should title and register your vehicle at the nearest OMV.

For completing this procedure, you have only 30 days starting from the day of the purchase. If you recently moved to Louisiana, you have the right to drive 90 days without registration.

Until the arrival of your state-issued recall, you have to require T-Markers. It is a temporary permit. It allows you to legally operate your automobile within 60 days. Remove and recycle them after receiving permanent numbers.

During the registration process, you will need the following documents:

  • Completed application form
  • State issued title
  • Proof of valid insurance
  • Photo ID or Driving license
  • Proof of payments

For titling, you have to pay $68.50. The weight, type, and price of the vehicle determine the fee of the registration. It may start from $20 and reach $82.

The usage tax starts from 4% to 9% of the value of the car.

Available types of the plates

In Louisiana, you can apply for a standard or personalized plate. The latter is here to provide individual or organizational interests for the residents. Check How can you search a license plate in several states: Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, Virginia, and Washington.

Standard Category

If you do not indicate your special preference, the OMV issues a standard tag for you. The state started to issue it in 1915. At that time cars have to display 2 plates. Being that, one is for the front, and then another one for the rear. In 1951 it was declared that only the rear tag should be attached. It has blue text written on white background. The state name is written on top and the letters are read.

The government does not require to have numbers on the front. You have to attach the plate to the rear. It has to be undamaged and noticeable. On the right side of your automobile, you have to attach the registration sticker.

Personalized Category

Within the frame of this category, you can choose a preferable combination of letters and digits. You can choose distinctive writing, quotations to indicate, or mix and match the letters and numerals.

You have to follow the rules set by the OMV, as you are not allowed to include vulgar words or something offensive to a wide public. Otherwise, the government has a right to ban it. Make sure that you are using acceptable writings and combinations.

Purchase your distinctive car numbers online, via mail, or by visiting the local OMV.

The address is:

Office of Motor Vehicles

7979 Independence BLVD

Baton Rouge, LA 70806

You may also search for personalized numbers through Louisiana License Plate Lookup services. Check the availability of your preferred combination and follow these steps:

  • Select up to seven characters, both letters, digits, and spaces
  • Do not use offensive or vulgar writings and combination

In addition to standard fees, for the personalized category you have to pay $25, plus $3.50 administrative payment, $8 for handling. Only do the payment after approval of your personalized numbers.

Specialized Category

This category is here to meet the interests and requirements of various organizations. So being an elected member of the organization or a group, you may apply for the following types:

  • Universities, colleges, and other educational facilities
  • Military personnel
  • Organizations
  • Special antique cars
  • People with disabilities

The above-mentioned categories have their unique design. The style criteria vary from state to state. Moreover, you may choose a unique customized design for your numbers. These types also give privileges to their customers. For example, the disability category gives you a legal right to park in handicapped parking spaces. You are only eligible to apply for them if you have a disability.

Sometimes on a plate, you may notice WD, which means wild tail deer. It contains an ecological meaning behind it. The message is to preserve the state’s hunting heritage.

NOTE: Sometimes to apply for the specialty types, you can be requested to donate.

Renewal process

You have to renew your registration every two years. Generally, the OMV sends a reminder message before the actual expiration date. That notice provides a date on when and how to do the renewal. The department does not resend the notice. Even if you have not received the reminder, you should proceed with the renewal. Otherwise, the government imposes late fees and other legal penalties.

There are three renewal methods available; online, in person, and by mail.

No matter which method you prefer, you have to prepare the following documents:

  • Driving License or other form ID
  • Renewal notice
  • Proof of payments or bank card

To do the renewal by mail, send the documents and filled application form to:

Motor Vehicles’ Office

Box number 642886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896

Online renewal should be done through ExpressLane online portal. Follow the instructions and receive the renewed decals and distinctive numbers via mail. If you want to check the status of your renewal contact the Local County office at 225-925-6146.

The renewal cost depends on the price of the automobile. You have to pay additional administrative taxes and fees.


If you find your tags damaged, stolen, or lost, you have an opportunity to apply to the OMV and launch the replacement process. In case of theft, first, enter the nearest police station, file a theft report as soon as possible. It is illegal to drive without national authorization and it will cause legal consequences.

To avoid penalties, provide the following documents to local OMV:

  • Completed and signed application form (DPSMV 1799)
  • Police report
  • Data on vehicle title and registration
  • Proof of payment

The fee for the plate is $10, you have to pay an additional service fee of $8

The sticker’s cost is $10, plus a handling fee of $8.

You will get the duplicate within a month.

How to do the Transferring or Surrender

In Louisiana, you have no right to transfer your plate from one car to another. Even when you sell your old vehicle, you are not permitted to do transfers. This means that the state doesn’t attach the plate to the owner.

The state made an exclusion for the trade of a truck or trailer. Only during this process, you are allowed to do the transfer.

If you have to cancel LA car insurance, pay attention to surrender the tag. You have to do it by personally visiting the OMV.

Make sure you have a driver’s ID with you. Take the tags, a hard copy of the registration certificate, and visit a branch office.

You may also organize surrendering through the mail. Send the necessary documents to OMV.

You cannot guess the price of the replacement. So, it’s better to consult with the professionals of the Clerk’s office to know a certain amount.

If you still have questions on the above-mentioned procedures, you may contact the office of the County Clerk. Make a call at (225) 925-6146.