• Home
  • /
  • Virginia License Plate Lookup

Virginia License Plate Lookup



Virginia License Plate Lookup

Today Virginia license plate lookup mechanisms become a reliable source of getting information about a concrete car. They work perfectly fast and easily. While practicing online databases, you just need to type the number of the plate in a special gap, choose the state and by submitting this info you will get a complete report within seconds.

The report contains the following sections:

  • The auto specification: is about the model and production of the car.
  • History of the accidents: transfers info on the engagement of the car in any accidents and shows if it has been damaged or not.
  • Involvement in natural disasters: shows if the car has been damaged by flood, storm, or fire.
  • The inspection report: will let you know about the maintenance of the automobile.
  • Rollback of the mileage: proves the accuracy of the reported mileage.
  • Data on a lien: warns you if the car is used in a loan or not.
  • Public photos and videos

Virginia license plate lookup is a must when buying a pre-owned automobile. As the above-mentioned data will keep you from harmful practices used by the local dealers.

Moreover, before an actual purchase, you determine the automobile’s market value, find out if it has been engaged in illegal transactions, and decide if it is worth your money or not.

Available options of the Lookup

While using online search portals pay attention to the sources, they get the information from. Make sure that they provide reliable data which is derived from official and trustworthy public resources.

Besides available online databases, you may request information from the state, particularly from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Just fill out the special request form and send it to:

Department of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 27412

Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001

You can also visit personally the nearest agency and provide the completed request form. The advantage of this option is that you will get the required info on the spot.

Another option is to hire a private investigator. Their service is expensive, but the results are always satisfying.

NOTE. VA takes laws of Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) very seriously. This means that you can’t get the personal details of the vehicle’s owner. Also, you have to use obtained info in acceptable terms. Any violation of the DPPA laws or misuse of the information can result in legal penalties.

How to get VA License Plate?

The DMV is a governmental body that is responsible for the authorization of vehicles. It requires decals both for the front and back. VA issued its first plates in 1906.

General issued tags have a white background. The name of the state, written in blue letters, appears on the middle of the upper side.

Registration Process

If you have a newly established residency in this region or you have bought a new car, you are not permitted to drive without authorization.

You have only 30 days to authorize your car. So, title and register it as soon as possible. It is possible to do these two procedures simultaneously. Just take the following steps:

  1. Fill out the application form for the Certificate of Title and Registration.
  2. If you have already owned VA title, complete only the Form of Vehicle Registration.
  3. Provide valid photo ID.
  4. Have proof of insurance or a $500 fee for the uninsured motor vehicle.
  5. Passed safety inspection and an operating safety inspection sticker are a must.
  6. Obtain an emission permit (if applicable).
  7. Take all the necessary fees.

After having a full package of all the required documents, pay a personal visit to the nearest DMV agency and submit the data. After that, the responsible body will issue a registration card, two tags, and decals showing the expiration date. Always keep the card inside your automobile.

The fees

The certain amount of the fee for the registration is determined by the kind and weight of the transport. The length of the time you choose for the registration validity is also considered. To find out the concrete amount of the cost check out the chart.

Available types

Besides generally issued standard tags, you can also apply for personalized and specialty types. Virginia offers more than 250 types. Besides general type, we specify 4 main groups of specialty tags:

  • Personalized
  • Specialty
  • Temporary
  • Disability


Personalize your tags if you want to have custom numbers. First of all, you have to fill out the application form for the personalized category. Secondly, follow all the guidelines. This means that you have to indicate up to 7 characters, both numbers, letters.

You can’t use vulgar and offensive messages to the wide public, as the government has a right to ban the combination. Check the availability of your preferred combination through DMV official website.

Annual payment of the order of personalized category is $10, the renewal requires $10 too.


Within this category, you are to find such subcategories as College, Military, Special interest, and Other subcategories. This category is designed for financial support to the scholarships, preservation, and foundations. It brings together people with common interests and causes.

Search for specialty plates through the DMV website by visiting the section of Search/View Specialty Tags. After finding the option that perfectly suits your interests, fill out an application paper. Provide the number of the title, the VIN, and manage the payment.

Besides the online application, you may also conduct the procedure by mail or in person. Fill out the special application form, provide the required payment and submit all in person at the nearest licensing center or send it by mail to the address mentioned below:

VA Department of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 27412

Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001

The cost of the specialty tags differs depending on the category of the tag. Payment starts from $10 and reaches $50. The fee for the specific tag may be found on the official website of the responsible department.


In December 2009, the Print on Demand (PoD) program has been released. This allows certificated dealers to print temporary tags for their customers.

Dealers, with help of the electronic system transfer information to the DMV, and the latter creates a unique temporary tag and expiry date for specific auto.

Each set of a monthly temporary tag costs $3, and for the 5-day tag, the dealers pay $1.5. For more details contact PoD Assistance Desk at (804) 367-1474.


This type is here to support people with permanent and temporary disabilities and the organizations/groups that transfer people with disabilities. By owning it, you may park in special parking areas.

It is valid only when it is used by its owner, no one else can legally use its privileges. To apply for this type, you have to fill out a special paper (MED-10), provide medical certification, and manage the payments.

Bring all the materials to the nearest licensing agency or send them by mail to:


P.O. Box 85815

Richmond, VA 23285

Renewal Process

The state allows you to renew your automobile for 1, 2, or even 3 years. You just need to examine each criterion for a specific renewal option.

Before the actual date of expiring you will receive a renewal notice, which contains details of the renewal date, fee, and status of the emission test. Nowadays, it is possible to apply for electronic reminders. Just visit the Customer Support Service Center or sign up online.

This procedure may be done through the internet or mail, or by visiting the agency in person. A certain amount of the procedure cost can be found in the renewal notice.


If you find your tags damaged or lost you have to contact the certifying office as soon as possible. Fill out the form of replacement and submit it with the required cost to the local agency.

For the replacement of the tag, you have to pay $10. The cost of the decal replacement is $1.

If you find your numbers stolen, first of all, you have to file a report at the nearest police station. Only after that visit local agency for the replacement.

Transfer and Surrendering

The state attaches the tag to the name of the resident and not to the truck. This means that you don’t need to give away your numbers when purchasing a new truck. You have a right to display them to a new truck. Just pay a transfer cost of $2.

If you don’t want to transfer them, the state may require you to make them unusable or surrender them.

Surrender your distinctive numbers, if you are moving to a new state, selling your automobile, and don’t want to transfer them. Deactivate or reactivate your tags online or by contacting the licensing agency at (804) 497-7100