• Home
  • /
  • Missouri License Plate Lookup

Missouri License Plate Lookup


Missouri License Plate Lookup

Your auto may have many defects but visually you do not see it. So we suggest you run a Missouri license plate lookup for getting information about your car. You can get information about its repairs, damages, or accidents.

By doing this you will be protected. You have two ways to do the lookup. You can do it online. Also, you may apply to the Department of Revenue. So, requesting the information, you get this stuff:

  1. The vehicle title
  2. The last inspection time
  3. Accident history
  4. Odometer reading
  5. A registration problem
  6. The mileage
  7. A report on a lien
  8. Repossession
  9. Taxi or police car use
  10. Industrial services

The tags are good for 2 years. However, there are cases in MI, where it is good for a year.

The Titles

You have 30 days to register and label, otherwise, you will have a penalty of $25. And you gain another $25 every 30 days if you do not title it. So you will have a penalty like $200. In order to apply for heading, you have to present the following details:

  • Firstly, you have to present the legal document of ownership. For example, it should be the certificate of heading. In the case of a new car, you have to give the Manufacturer’s statement.
  • Secondly, you have to provide your identification number.
  • Thirdly, you have to provide the odometer inspection.
  • Next, it is the statement of Odometer disclosure.
  • Then, you have to provide lien release in certain cases.
  • After, you have to fill out the Application form for the Missouri heading and license form.

But they require other documents, too. And keep in mind, that the documents and requirements for military service staff and new residents are different from others. Check how can you search a license plate in several states: North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania and Rhode Island.

What Tag Types can you find in Missouri?

There are states that require two tags on your car. One of them is Missouri. You have to gain one for the front part and another one for the back part. There are different types of tags here. They are Standard, Personalized, Specialty, Temporary, Permanent.


If you range it, you have to receive a standard tag. The difference between standard and personalized is that the first one has raised lettering, meanwhile the second is flat.


It has to contain no more than six characters. It has to include letter and number combinations. You are able to choose between two types.

You can have it with no emblem and with a wheelchair symbol. But you must not have offensive or rude words. After it, the Department of Revenue has to approve your request.


You are able to find different sorts of specialty licenses here. Here are some examples of them:

  1. Collegiate
  2. Charitable
  3. Historic
  4. Military

Disability license plates

This variety is for people, who have injuries. If they obtain this sort, they are able to do parking in special parking spaces. There are two sorts of this placard. They are temporary and permanent.


If you have received a status like permanent disability, you are able to obtain this sort. To apply for it, you have to present the application and the documents of a car. If it is not your car, you have to submit a letter.

Please, keep in mind that you and the owner must sign it. It has to say that you do not have to drive more than 50 percent of the driving time.

The US Department of Veteran Affairs has to give a letter for disabled veterans. It has to say that they received an inability in the service.

In order to have it, you better know the following steps:

  • Firstly, you have to submit the Application.
  • Secondly, someone has to certify your permanent disability.

Here you find the list of people that must certify:

  • Physician’s assistant
  • Chiropractor
  • Podiatrist
  • Licensed physician
  • Optometrist
  • Physical therapist
  • Advanced practice registered nurse

You do not need to pay for it. And it is for 8 years. So you have three options to request it:

  1. Online
  2. Personally
  3. By mail


People, who have an inability and it does not exceed 180 days, can be considered for this variety. It is determined by narrow specialists. They fill out a form. To arrange this sort, you have to do the same steps like filling out an application and bringing a letter certified by the above-mentioned people.

Unlike the previous variety, you have to pay for it. The price is $2. It is valid until your inability ends.

Acquiring temporary permits

You have to obtain a temporary permit to drive legally. After purchasing it you have to place it on the rear. So these permits have some characteristics.

  1. 30 days is the issuing time.
  2. Each auto has only a permit.
  3. It is not available for the junk.
  4. If you apply to label it, it will become invalid.
  5. Lastly, you have to return to the DOR.

Renewal process

Before the expiration date, the Department of Revenue sends you a notification. It mentions the inspection details and the expiration date. You have to renew it before the expiration month.

However, you are able to do it during that month. So you have an opportunity to do it for up to six months. The price for the late renewal is $5.

There are three ways to request it:

  1. You can do it online.
  2. You are able to do it personally.
  3. You have to do it by phone or mail.

So to renew it, you have to present the following:

  • First, you have to show the notice.
  • Then, you have to present a certificate on safety or emissions inspections. You have to acquire it within 60 days.
  • After that, you have to give proof of MI machine insurance.
  • And lastly, you need to pay all the fees.


You find cases when you have to surrender it:

  1. When you switch from one sort to another.
  2. If you have damaged it.
  3. You decide to change your residency.

You have to go to the DOR and drop it there.

Transferring process

You have an opportunity to transfer your placard. You have to know that you are not able to transfer from a seller to a buyer. So it is not transferable to new people.

Replacing process

Do not worry if you have lost your tag. It may have been stolen or damaged. You are able to go to the police and report it. After it, the next step is arranging again. There are three ways to do it:

  • Firstly, you need to complete the replacement.
  • Secondly, you have to pay the prices.
  • Thirdly, you have to surrender the previous plates in case of damages.

The Costs

Let’s dig into the prices. So you will find how much you need to pay:

  1. The processing price is $6.
  2. For the label, you have to give $8.50.
  3. For the enrollment, they charge different amounts of money.
  4. For military personalized and specialty tags, they charge $15.
  5. For the replacement, you have to $8.50.
  6. Then, for the transfer, they charge $2.

For more details, contact the DOR via the phone numbers 573-526-2407 and 573-526-3669.

And here are the addresses:

  • Jefferson City: 301 W High, Jefferson City, 65101
  • Bridgeton: 11977 St Charles Rock Rd, Bridgeton, 63044
  • Joplin: 1110 E 7th St #6, Joplin, 64801
  • Louis: 4546 Lemay Ferry Rd. Louis, 63129
  • Harrisonville: 2773 Cantrell Rd, Harrisonville, 64701
  • Springfield: 149 Park Central Square # 328, Springfield, 65806
  • Blue Springs: 903 W Main St, Blue Springs, 64015
  • Clinton: 702 E Ohio St #4, Clinton, 64735
  • Cape Girardeau: 3102 Blattner Dr #102, Cape Girardeau, 63703
  • Stockton: 211 MO-32, Stockton, 65785