If you are in ND, you better register your car first. And if you buy a new car, always run a North Dakota license plate lookup. It helps you to get a lot of information about the car. You gain stuff like its damages, repairing, and accidents. The law requires registering your machine. Otherwise, you will have problems with the law.
So let’s see what we have to do for enrolling. You have to apply to the ND Department of Motor vehicles. Please note that you have 30 days to do it. Then, you have to provide the following details to the department.
If you buy it from a dealer, he will do it instead of you. However, buying an auto from a trader, you have to do it yourself. Though many states require only one tag, you have to obtain two of them for each vehicle. You have to use one for the front part. The other is for the back part.
It is very popular to buy a vanity tag here. The reason for this is that it is very unique and gives you a diverse look. It has a low cost, so many people prefer it. It costs $25.
To obtain a personalized tag, you have to turn to the Department of Transportation. You have a chance to get it in case it meets the requirements of the rule. Note that your tag cannot include some phrases. Let’s see them.
After this, Bismark manufacturing handles the production process. You have to check their availability. You will not have a chance to get one if it is used at the moment.
Vehicles like vans, pickups, cars, and motorcycles are eligible for this type. You may not use more than seven characters. However, you are able to have numbers, letters, and spaces.
When you purchase an auto, you are able to drive it for five days without enrollment. You have to receive a temporary one. You may obtain it from three places.
Cars, trucks, and motorcycles may take it. If you are a non-resident here, you have to get it for at least six months. However, before that, you should provide the following details.
It has an expiration number. You must assign it to the visible place.
There are some specialty placards available in ND. They are military, personalized, and special interests. You have chances to apply online and in person.
There are some interest placards that do not have to meet the criteria, meanwhile, others do.
All residents are eligible to request FFA, Lewis, and Clark tags. The Firefighter Association also has a membership for it. Please keep in mind that these special interest placards charge extra money in addition to the standard enrollment.
Veterans and their family members are eligible to apply for this type. Cars, motorcycles, vans weighing less than 16.000 pounds, obtain military ones. The order of veterans will be $15. The renewal is $10.
Vehicles, having sustained for several decades, get a special registration status. Let’s dig into them.
To request it, you have to know the details:
Note that you can apply both in person or by email.
The prices vary based on the year, weight, and type of auto. The replacement is $5. As for motorcycles, the price depends on the month of enrollment.
A six-month registration is $60. However, a yearly one is $120. For motorcycles, a six-month enrollment is $20. It is $60 for a year.
To make the payments, you have to go to the DMV in North Dakota.
You have to renew your placard before its expiration date. If you do not remember the date to renew, the DOT will send you an email notification. It includes a link to renew it online. For that, you have to input your machine heading, your invoice number, and card details for the payment.
Please, always check the requirements before applying.
You have an opportunity to do it in person, too. While going to the DOT, take the following with you.
If you are not a resident but want to apply for renewal, you have to send an email. After it, you will get the renewal packet. To renew, you have to provide the below-mentioned documents.
After the renewal packet delivery, you have to pay $15. After finishing the steps, send the final packet to the DMV.
In case you lost it, or it has been destroyed or stolen, you have an opportunity to replace it. The only thing to do is complete the application form. After that, you have to wait for the result.
If you have a specialty placard, you can transfer it from auto to auto. However, there are some cases where you are not able to do the shift. Here are the types that do not require the shift.
For more details, call the DOT at this phone number 701-328-2500. Find the addresses below.