Michigan license plate has changed over the years. It was green, orange, and olive, but now it is blue and white. Before you buy a car, make sure you run a Michigan license plate lookup.
It helps you to get information about your car. You know who the owner was and how many times it was in an accident. If you change your place and buy a car there, always do a search. For example, you run Alabama license plate lookup if you go to Alabama.
The Michigan Department of State is responsible for the tags. It manufactures 2 million tags yearly. MI is one of the 19 states that do not require a front label.
Table of Contents
The characters must be seven here. But it sometimes differs. It depends on the variety. To order it, you have to visit one of the local SOS offices.
To get it, you have to provide the following documents.
You have to renew it annually. It expires on the birthday of the owner. But you always receive a notification mail. You will receive it 45 days before it expires. But you have a chance to do it before six months of your expiration date. You have four ways to do your renewal.
The fees vary depending on the tag history, model, and year. The record shows whether you are the only owner or there is someone else. Though these mentioned factors are essential, the Suggested Retail Price of the Manufacturer decides the fees.
Having a percentage of the Suggested Retail Price of the Manufacturer, the amount of money is calculated. This is the base price. So it does not include taxes or other costs.
Each year it has a 10% decrease in annual renewal price. However, it only applies for the first three years of yearly renewal. And after it, the cost remains the same.
Here the prices are calculated in another way. The weight of the autos is the decision-making part. If you meet difficulties while calculating the costs, you can contact the assistance by this telephone ( 1-888-767-6424). Assistance from the Department of State Information Center will answer you.
Unfortunately, it is not always possible to do a transmit. However, it sometimes happens. For the transfer, you have to use the SOS office.
But there is also another way to do it. The MI dealership may do it instead of you if you buy an auto from them. While you transfer, you have to provide the documents:
For transfers, you have to pay $10.
If your tag is damaged, stolen, or lost, you are eligible to replace it. There is a responsible office for giving the replacement tags in the county. It is the Secretary of State’s office. While replacing it, you have to provide the following documents:
A lot of states require returning placards. But Michigan does not have a law for returning it. If you do not want to keep it, you should destroy it. But you know, you better not destroy it, but give for recycling. They do it in order not to have a misuse.
The sorts vary in different states. Here the county has a variety of types. You may find the specialty with its historical, collector, subtypes, and so on.
It is very interesting that you have a chance to choose a specialty tag. There are a lot of them, like personalized, historical, collectors in MI. So let’s dig into each of them.
There is an opportunity to choose one type among these fours. So let’s see them:
Fifteen universities are considered funds. Veterans and military ones are available too. For example, Olympic Education, Water Quality, or Agricultural heritage are considered a specialty. The amount of money is $30. And you have additional regular placard costs.
The county has had this variety since 1956. This sort is given to antique vehicles. If you want to obtain this sort, you must meet these requirements.
They charge $30. However, it will be valid for ten years.
This is not considered a machine registration plate. However, you have the opportunity to obtain it. The collector tags are non-profit organizations or university fundraising plates.
You have a chance to obtain a temporary placard. If you do not use your means of transportation regularly, it is better to obtain this variety.
You may have a 30-day permit. For it, they charge $20. At the same time, you request a 60-day permit and they charge $30.
First, let’s see what the title and registration are.
If you have a car, you have to register it, as Michigan law claims. All vehicles have to be enrolled. They have to obtain valid license plates. The enrollment shows the registration of the plate to what vehicle. In order to enroll your vehicle, you have to present the following details:
A title is a document. It is given legally. It shows who is the property’s owner. There are some types that have to be enrolled:
In case you purchase a used trailer, you have to take the assigned title and do the shift from that trailer to another. You have to obtain a new tag at the moment.
In case you buy a new vehicle or a used one but it weighs less than 2.500 lbs, you must have one of the below-mentioned things.
So the price differs, as it is based on the empty weight. Let’s see them:
For more details contact the SOS. Here are the addresses and the phone number.
The number is +1 888-767-6424.