When you register your car in Mississippi, you can apply for a vanity plate. You may also renew it in person, via mail, or online in select counties. If you are the owner of the car, transfer special tags to another vehicle. Additional fees are usually charged for custom tags, both when they are first purchased and when they are renewed.
Continue reading this article for more information to know how to apply for special tags in Mississippi.
If you drive a car, truck, van, or motorcycle, you must register your vehicle with the Department of Revenue and receive license plates. Choose them with a unique number when applying for it.
The Department of Revenue distributes and issues personalized and customized vanity license plates. Mississippi does not enable you to look up the lettering on it to see if it is available online. The Region Tax Collector’s Office is where you get them. Only a registered owner orders it, and you register it to a Mississippi vehicle at the time of issuance.
Is there a distinction between individualized and vanity tags? You may have come across these terms while registering or renewing it. Of course, the answers to these questions are a little hazy, and there isn’t a clear-cut distinction between them.
There is no simple way to define vanity. CyberDrive Illinois is one of the few sites that define it and compares them to others:
Aside from that distinction, the terms, custom tags, are largely interchangeable. Although they are more commonly used to refer to purely decorative ones, the term is still used to refer to the official.
These terms typically refer to customizing needed to read specific phrases or names. When determining which states require front license plates, you must make an important distinction.
Ordering Instructions: Follow these steps to order that:
Automobiles, pickup trucks, vans, and motorcycles are all eligible for personalized, according to the Department of Revenue.
The price is $31 in addition to the usual renewal expenses.
Number of Characters: It has a maximum of 7 characters. Use any combination of letters A to Z, Spaces, and Numbers 0 to 9.
Limitations: Check it with DOV’s nearest office via running a lookup.
According to the Department of Revenue, purchasing it can be an expensive proposition.
The ad valorem property charge levied by municipalities, and school districts are what makes them so expensive. While each local government entity has millage control, the Legislature has control over the rate of assessment, which is 30% for cars. To account for depreciation, this is spread out over ten years. A vehicle’s value must be assessed at a minimum of $100.
The most expensive ones in the state are found in Belzoni, a Delta city. Purchasing them for a Ford F-150 in the Catfish Capitol price is $2938, while the Camry will cost $1701.86.
Many property owners who live in unincorporated counties save hundreds of dollars when it comes time to renew them. In unincorporated Humphreys County, those would cost $1232 for the Camry and $2128 for the F-150.
The millage rates are different. Residents in the district pay 1 set of mileage to support the governmental activities and another set to support a school district. Residents of cities pay a lower millage rate to the district in which they live, a millage for the local school system, and then a separate charge for their city.
As the value of a car depreciates, the cost decreases. The tax commission assesses depreciation and determines the manufacturer’s suggested retail pricing for vehicles and trucks sold.
To obtain, visit the website, visit any County Tax Collector’s Office, or call 1-601-923-7700.