Oregon License Plates help to identify your certification type and connect the automobile to its owner. OR law requires drivers to place Oregon DMV license plates on the front and rear of most vehicles. There are up to 50 classified designs available based on your preferences. Each additional design will cost you an additional fee. Oregon license plates can also be divided into 5 different groups. Those groups demonstrate the respective category for which you and your vehicle can qualify.
So, you’re thinking about buying a new vehicle in Oregon. Or maybe it’s time for your registration renewal. Either way, the thought of going through this whole process may seem complex and tricky. But don’t worry. Getting new Oregon license plates is pretty easy if you know what documents and fees are expected from you. And luckily, this article will answer all of your questions!
License plates are mandatory for your vehicle registration. They help to identify your certification type and connect the automobile to its owner. The law requires drivers to place Oregon DMV license plates on the front and rear of most vehicles.
One plate, for only the rear of the automobile, is required for:
Any other vehicle driver must follow the rule of having two number plates.
Once you receive them, you can’t adjust it or have a framework that can hide the characters, digits, tags, or stickers. Luckily, there are many styles to choose from.
The standard OR license plate is the one with a tree in the middle. But there are up to 50 classified designs available based on your preferences. You can pick your tags based on your hobbies, favorite activities, profession, Military duties, and willingness to pay the extra bill.
The OR numberplates can be divided into 5 different groups:
Keep in mind that if you want to pick a number plate that differs from the standard one, you have to make an additional payment for most of them. But firstly, let’s find out how much a standard one costs.
The standard price for a regular Oregon license plate is $24.50. However, the registration commission of your car is calculated by combining a few indicators. It depends on the recency of your car, its type, the district you’re in, and the different backgrounds you prefer.
Custom number plates have an additional cost. They allow you to select any numeral and character sequence within certain limits. When picking, you should follow the mentioned rules:
OR custom plates cost $50 for each registration year and per renewal. This price is combined with the plate charge, the registration or renewal bill, and any additional payment for special backgrounds.
If calculating the final cost manually seems too difficult for you, you can use the online fee calculator.
You can get almost every passenger vehicle numberplate online on DMV2U if you:
To complete the renewal process online, you will need:
You can also send your application via mail. Make certain to attach all the documents mentioned above and send them to the DMV office.
The re-establishment card should be delivered within 45 to 60 days before your enrollment expiration date. Your new stickers and numbers should arrive within 15 business days. In the meantime, you can use your registration receipt as proof of renewal.
There will be no late charges for failing to complete the steps on time. However, in this case, applying online will be the only option.
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem OR 97314